chef's life
A Peanut Pastime

Vivian visits neighbor Marty Harper's peanut farm just before and during harvest. Vivian's dad introduces Ben and Vivian to the old school break snack, a pack of salted peanuts dumped into a Pepsi in a glass bottle. At the restaurant, Vivian translates the snack into Pepsi glazed pork belly with country ham braised peanuts. Vivian reinvents the popular Southern snack, boiled peanuts, for the local farmers' market.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 109


Watch Chef's Life - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Chef's Life": (show all)

Thu, Jun 4 8:30 A.M. Collard Green Queen     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 5 8:30 A.M. The Buttermilk Belt     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 7 6:00 P.M. Sweet Corn & Expensive Tea     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 8 8:30 A.M. Have Yourself Some Moonshine     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 9 8:30 A.M. Blueberries and Boiling Over     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 10 8:30 A.M. Shrimp Sells     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 11 8:30 A.M. R-E-S-P-E-C-T The Butterbean     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 12 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 1     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 14 6:00 P.M. Strawberry Stay at Home     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 15 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 2     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 16 8:30 A.M. Apples     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 17 8:30 A.M. The Fish Episode, Y'all     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 18 8:30 A.M. Obviously, It's Pecans     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 19 8:30 A.M. Turnips - The Roots     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 21 6:00 P.M. Pimp My Grits     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction