chef's life
A Road Trip for Rice

Vivian travels to Columbia, South Carolina, to meet with Glenn Roberts of Anson Mills and learns about Carolina heirloom rice growing in fields on the Savannah River. Glenn explains Anson Mills' efforts to save heirloom grains and discusses the importance of ingredient biodiversity. Glenn's passion inspires Vivian to host a "rice dinner" at Chef & the Farmer, where each course centers around this grain. Scarlett, Vivian's mom, schools her daughter on how to make the chicken and rice she grew up eating.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 108


Watch Chef's Life - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Chef's Life": (show all)

Mon, May 20 8:30 A.M. Gone Clamming, Part II     NH EXPLORE
Tue, May 21 8:30 A.M. What's Your Beef?     NH EXPLORE
Wed, May 22 8:30 A.M. One Potato, New Potato     NH EXPLORE
Thu, May 23 8:30 A.M. Onions and Avetts     NH EXPLORE
Fri, May 24 8:30 A.M. My Watermelon Baby     NH EXPLORE
Sun, May 26 12:30 A.M. Gone Clamming, Part II     NH EXPLORE
Mon, May 27 8:30 A.M. Peas, Please     NH EXPLORE
Tue, May 28 8:30 A.M. Stand By Your Cabbage     NH EXPLORE
Wed, May 29 8:30 A.M. Cabbage's Last Stand     NH EXPLORE
Thu, May 30 8:30 A.M. Rabbit     NH EXPLORE
Fri, May 31 8:30 A.M. More Than One Way to Skin A Catfish     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 2 12:30 A.M. What's Your Beef?     NH EXPLORE
Mon, Jun 3 8:30 A.M. All Sunchoked Up     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 4 8:30 A.M. Heavenly Hocks     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 5 8:30 A.M. Mayo - The Mother Sauce     NH EXPLORE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 49 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels