chef's life
A Road Trip for Rice

Vivian travels to Columbia, South Carolina, to meet with Glenn Roberts of Anson Mills and learns about Carolina heirloom rice growing in fields on the Savannah River. Glenn explains Anson Mills' efforts to save heirloom grains and discusses the importance of ingredient biodiversity. Glenn's passion inspires Vivian to host a "rice dinner" at Chef & the Farmer, where each course centers around this grain. Scarlett, Vivian's mom, schools her daughter on how to make the chicken and rice she grew up eating.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 108


Watch Chef's Life - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Chef's Life": (show all)

Thu, Jun 4 8:30 A.M. Collard Green Queen     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 5 8:30 A.M. The Buttermilk Belt     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 7 6:00 P.M. Sweet Corn & Expensive Tea     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 8 8:30 A.M. Have Yourself Some Moonshine     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 9 8:30 A.M. Blueberries and Boiling Over     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 10 8:30 A.M. Shrimp Sells     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 11 8:30 A.M. R-E-S-P-E-C-T The Butterbean     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 12 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 1     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 14 6:00 P.M. Strawberry Stay at Home     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 15 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 2     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 16 8:30 A.M. Apples     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 17 8:30 A.M. The Fish Episode, Y'all     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 18 8:30 A.M. Obviously, It's Pecans     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 19 8:30 A.M. Turnips - The Roots     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 21 6:00 P.M. Pimp My Grits     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction