rudy maxa's world
Nova Scotia & Newfoundland

Wed, Dec 19 1:30 A.M. NH CREATE      

From the charming fishing towns of Nova Scotia to the vast wilderness of Newfoundland, these are the last great. open spaces of Eastern North America. A touch of New England, a dash of Germany, here a British fort, there an Irish brogue, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland are mixed-up worlds peopled by the descendants of hardy colonists who came to fish and trade fur. Lighthouses sweep the skies, the seas are littered with shipwrecks whales cruise the coastline in the summer, storms rage in the winter, but the warmth of the hardy people who live in these two provinces makes the lonely landscape beautiful rather than forbidding.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 45 seconds

Episode Number: 304

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Wed, Dec 19 1:30 A.M. nova scotia & newfoundland     NH CREATE

About Rudy Maxa's World:

Building on five successful seasons of travel shows featuring Europe and the Pacific Rim, award-winning travel journalist Rudy Maxa broadens his horizons - and those of his audience - with the launch of RUDY MAXA'S WORLD.

In this new 13-part series, Rudy offers his sophisticated take on a destination's history, culture, architecture, politics and cuisine, while also turning a journalistic eye to the people and lifestyles of Russia, Estonia, Turkey, India, Argentina, Japan and Thailand.

The season begins in India, where Rudy visits the Taj Mahal and the crowded alleys and villages of New Delhi.

Later, Rudy indulges in resorts nestled along the Baltic Sea, marvels at the Hermitage's treasures in St.

Petersburg, explores the ancient ruins and royal tombs of Turkey's southern coast, learns to tango in Argentina, witnesses a Buddhist ceremony in Kyoto and sails in a long-tailed boat through the canals of Bangkok.

Future Broadcast times for "Rudy Maxa's World": (show all)

Wed, Dec 19 1:30 A.M. Nova Scotia & Newfoundland     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 21 1:30 A.M. Food, Drink & Place     NH CREATE
Sat, Dec 22 11:00 A.M. London     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Dec 23 1:30 A.M. Four Great Cities of Asia     NH CREATE
Wed, Dec 26 1:30 A.M. Four Great Cities of Asia     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 28 1:30 A.M. Tokyo     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 30 1:30 A.M. Hokkaido     NH CREATE
Wed, Jan 2 1:30 A.M. Hokkaido     NH CREATE
Fri, Jan 4 1:30 A.M. Kyushu     NH CREATE
Sat, Jan 5 11:00 A.M. Uzbekistan     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jan 6 1:30 A.M. Hong Kong, Part 1     NH CREATE
Wed, Jan 9 1:30 A.M. Hong Kong, Part 1     NH CREATE
Fri, Jan 11 1:30 A.M. Hong Kong, Part 2     NH CREATE
Sat, Jan 12 11:00 A.M. South Africa: Cape Town     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jan 13 1:30 A.M. Bangkok     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 49 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels