super why!
The Nutcracker

Fri, May 14 7:30 A.M. NHPBS KIDS      

Princess Pea doesn't know what to do about her friend Sleeping Beauty who is very, very grumpy! Super Why and his friends dance their way into the story of The Nutcracker, accompanied by Tchaikovsky's memorable music, to find out why the Mouse King is so cranky and give an innovative twist to the holiday classic. But will the super readers be able to restore magic to The Land of Sweets? Educational Objectives: To learn a cheer-up strategy, sing the alphabet, identify the letters F, L, and Y, practice the magic of spelling, and use the power to read to change the story.

Episode Duration: 28 minutes and 55 seconds

Episode Number: 159

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Fri, May 14 7:30 A.M. The Nutcracker     NHPBS KIDS

About Super Why!:

This series focuses on the adventures of four fairytale friends who transform into reading-powered superheroes: Alpha Pig with Alphabet Power, Wonder Red with Word Power, Princess Presto with Spelling Power, Super Why with the Power to Read and Super YOU with the Power to Help.

Together, they are the "Super Readers!" The Super Readers jump into books (literally) to find answers to everyday preschool challenges and embark on exciting adventures, where they play interactive reading games to overcome obstacles and save the day.

In every episode, young viewers dive directly into a pop-up story to experience a brightly-illustrated children's tale brought to magical life.

Future Broadcast times for "Super Why!": (show all)

Fri, May 7 7:30 A.M. Alice In Wonderland     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, May 10 7:30 A.M. The Muddled-Up Fairytales     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, May 11 7:30 A.M. The Comic Book: Attack of the Eraser     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, May 12 7:30 A.M. The Big Game     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, May 13 7:30 A.M. The Story of the Tooth Fairy     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, May 14 7:30 A.M. The Nutcracker     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, May 17 7:30 A.M. The Beach Day Mystery     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, May 18 7:30 A.M. The Silly Word Play     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, May 19 7:30 A.M. The Story of the Super Readers     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, May 20 7:30 A.M. The Rhyming Carnival     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, May 21 7:30 A.M. The Cookbook     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, May 24 7:30 A.M. The Mixed Up Story     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, May 25 7:30 A.M. The Goose and the Golden Eggs     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, May 26 7:30 A.M. The Alphabet's Sad Day     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, May 27 7:30 A.M. The Magic Porridge Pot     NHPBS KIDS

NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction