laura flanders show
Ecology: The Infrastructure of the Future?

In the midst of yet another year of climate catastrophe, the U.S. Senate is negotiating a $3.5 trillion infrastructure package. President Biden, among others, is calling for extensive investment to lower emissions and combat the effects of climate change. But what sort of investment? In this episode, Laura interviews environmental lawyer Colette Pichon Battle in Louisiana about the strategies organizers there have developed since Hurricane Katrina for equitable green development and climate justice. Then, she speaks in depth with MacArthur "Genius" award-winning landscape architect Kate Orff about her innovative work on oyster reefs, living breakwaters and regenerative infrastructure. Recently profiled in the New Yorker Magazine, Orff insists that ecology is the infrastructure of the future. Her work restores and harnesses-rather than resists-natural systems to ensure the livability of our rapidly changing world. Plus, Laura shares some thoughts about community vs. concrete.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 225

Future Broadcast times for "Laura Flanders Show": (show all)

Sat, Oct 30 11:00 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Oct 31 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD
Sat, Nov 6 11:00 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Nov 7 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD
Sat, Nov 13 11:00 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Nov 14 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD
Sat, Nov 20 11:00 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Nov 21 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD
Sun, Nov 28 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD
Sun, Dec 5 11:30 A.M. Laura Flanders Show     NH WORLD

NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Passport