american masters
Althea

Discover the story of Althea Gibson, who emerged as the unlikely queen of the segregated tennis world of the 1950s. She was the first African American to play and win Wimbledon and the U.S. Nationals. Features Billie Jean King and David Dinkins.

Episode Duration: 1 hour 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 2901


Watch American Masters - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "American Masters": (show all)

Thu, Sep 30 9:00 P.M. Raul Julia: The World's A Stage     NHPBS
Fri, Oct 1 9:30 P.M. Raul Julia: The World's A Stage     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Oct 2 2:30 A.M. Raul Julia: The World's A Stage     NHPBS
Sun, Oct 3 4:00 P.M. Raul Julia: The World's A Stage     NHPBS
Mon, Oct 4 1:00 P.M. Raul Julia: The World's A Stage     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Oct 5 9:00 P.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NHPBS
Wed, Oct 6 1:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Oct 6 4:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NHPBS
Wed, Oct 6 12:00 P.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Oct 7 3:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Oct 8 8:00 P.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH WORLD
Sat, Oct 9 1:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH WORLD
Sat, Oct 9 3:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Oct 9 9:00 A.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH WORLD
Sat, Oct 9 3:00 P.M. Rita Moreno: Just A Girl Who Decided to Go for It     NH WORLD

NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Passport