america reframed
Island Soldier

Filmed in Kosrae, Micronesia, Island Soldier follows the Nena family as they grieve the loss of their son, Sapuro "Sapp" Nena. His death in Afghanistan makes waves through the community where nearly everyone is connected to the U.S. Military. Known as a "recruiter's paradise," Micronesia, a U.S. territory in the Pacific Ocean, contributes a disproportionate number of soldiers to the American armed forces, who cannot receive benefits. Yet, scores of young men leave their families behind in pursuit of the American Dream.

Episode Duration: 1 hour 28 minutes and 50 seconds

Episode Number: 616


Watch America ReFramed - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "America ReFramed": (show all)

Tue, Aug 3 8:00 P.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Wed, Aug 4 12:00 A.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Wed, Aug 4 8:00 A.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Sat, Aug 7 10:00 P.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Sun, Aug 8 2:00 A.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Sun, Aug 8 9:00 A.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Sun, Aug 8 5:00 P.M. Where The Pavement Ends     NH WORLD
Tue, Aug 10 8:00 P.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Wed, Aug 11 12:00 A.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Wed, Aug 11 8:00 A.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Sat, Aug 14 10:00 P.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Sun, Aug 15 2:00 A.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Sun, Aug 15 9:00 A.M. Pyne Poynt     NH WORLD
Tue, Aug 17 8:00 P.M. Perfectly Normal for Me     NH WORLD
Wed, Aug 18 12:00 A.M. Perfectly Normal for Me     NH WORLD

NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Summer Sizzle Raffle