wordworld
Sh-Sh-Shark!/Dog Wants to Play Ball

Tue, Feb 25 11:00 A.M. NHPBS KIDS      

Sh-Sh-Shark!: Shark is misunderstood. Everyone is afraid of him and won't even give him a chance to prove he's friendly. Everyone but Duck, that is, who doesn't know that the letters s and h together make the 'sh' sound, and therefore doesn't know who Shark is. When Duck introduces his new friend "S-hark" to the gang, Duck learns a lesson about the /sh/ sound, while everyone else discovers that acceptance is an important part of friendship. Dog Wants to Play Ball: Dog wants to play ball, but he's having trouble communicating with his friends because they won't stop and listen to him.

Episode Duration: 28 minutes and 55 seconds

Episode Number: 105

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Tue, Feb 25 11:00 A.M. sh-sh-shark!/dog wants to play ball     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Mar 25 11:00 A.M. sh-sh-shark!/dog wants to play ball     NHPBS KIDS

About WordWorld:

Each episode of "WordWorld" is a narrative built around a wacky troupe of characters, WordFriends, who are characters first and words second.

"WordWorld's" WordFriends go on comic adventures and face challenges that can only be resolved with the right word.

Sheep is a shy little girl who loves to pretend; Frog is the cautious brainiac and word "expert"; impetuous Duck is still learning his letters; Pig lives in the moment; Ant is a pragmatic bundle of energy; and Dog is a WordFriend's best friend.

A key component of the show is word building, a unique moment when children witness a word "morph" into the thing it is.

Word building reinforces the pre-reading concept that letters make words and that words have meaning.

Future Broadcast times for "WordWorld": (show all)

Tue, Feb 25 11:00 A.M. Sh-Sh-Shark!/Dog Wants to Play Ball     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Feb 26 11:00 A.M. Dog's Camping Adventure/V Is for Vacation     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Feb 27 11:00 A.M. Bugs to the Rescue/Sheep's First Bike Ride     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Feb 28 11:00 A.M. The Race to Mystery Island/A Star Is Born     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Mar 2 11:00 A.M. Race to the Spaceship/Sandbox Surprise     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Mar 3 11:00 A.M. Dog's Having A Party/Dog Wants to Play Ball     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Mar 4 11:00 A.M. Boppin' with the Bug Band/Shuffleword     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Mar 5 11:00 A.M. Welcome Home, Duck/The Lost Letter L     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Mar 6 11:00 A.M. Princess Sheep/W Drought     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Mar 9 11:00 A.M. Totally Terrific Duck/A Star Is Born     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Mar 10 11:00 A.M. A Kooky Spooky Halloween/Sheep's Halloween Costume     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Mar 11 11:00 A.M. Bear's Bed Sled/Sh-Sh-Shark!     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Mar 12 11:00 A.M. The Lost Letter L/Catch That C!     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Mar 13 11:00 A.M. Flying Ant/The Dancing Duck Bonanza     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Mar 16 11:00 A.M. Pig's Present/Tick Tock Space Clock     NHPBS KIDS


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 49 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


Discover Ireland