story in the public square
Penny Abernathy

With more and more newspapers closing, a cornerstone of democracy in many localities is imperiled. Penny Abernathy, head of the Center for Innovation and Sustainability in Local Media in the School of Media and Journalism at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, discusses the problem - and poses possible solutions.

Episode Duration: 27 minutes and 1 seconds

Episode Number: 407

Future Broadcast times for "Story in the Public Square": (show all)

Thu, Jun 4 6:30 A.M. Maggie Smith     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 7 8:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 11 6:30 A.M. Daniela Lamas     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 14 8:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 18 6:30 A.M. Mary Rohlich     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 20 12:00 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NHPBS
Sun, Jun 21 8:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 25 6:30 A.M. Karey Kirkpatrick     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 27 12:00 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NHPBS
Sun, Jun 28 8:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jul 2 6:30 A.M. Peter Singer & August Cole     NH WORLD
Sat, Jul 4 12:00 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NHPBS
Sun, Jul 5 8:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jul 9 6:30 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NH WORLD
Sat, Jul 11 12:00 A.M. Story in the Public Square     NHPBS


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction