sid the science kid
I Want to Be A Scientist!

In his backyard, Sid is intently observing squirrels and really wants to know why they make funny squeaking sounds. It makes him wonder what kind of scientist investigates animals? Fortunately for Sid, today his class is going on a field trip to the Science Center, where a special guest greets them-it's Gabriela's Mom, Dr. Rosalinda Cordova! She is a marine biologist, and tells the kids about her exciting job SCUBA diving with whales. Completely enthralled, Sid wants to know if scientists investigate other kinds of animals too? Dr. Cordova uses a video connection so we can meet a real wildlife biologist studying pandas at the San Diego Zoo! This leads the rest of the kids to ask about science fields they're interested in. We meet a robotics engineer working on a 20-foot tall robot at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a chemist investigating stretchy ice cream in a kitchen lab, and a marine biologist at The Scripps Institute helping to keep the oceans healthy.

Episode Duration: 28 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 216

Future Broadcast times for "Sid The Science Kid": (show all)

Wed, Apr 14 8:00 A.M. The Wind Did It     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Apr 15 8:00 A.M. Sid's Special Dad Day     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Apr 16 8:00 A.M. Sid The Weatherman     NHPBS KIDS
Sat, Apr 17 8:00 A.M. Sid's Rainy Play Date     NHPBS KIDS
Sun, Apr 18 8:00 A.M. The Wind Did It     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Apr 19 8:00 A.M. Sid's Pet Project     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Apr 20 8:00 A.M. The Sticker Chart     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Apr 21 8:00 A.M. The Dirt On Dirt     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Apr 22 8:00 A.M. My Mushy Banana     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Apr 23 8:00 A.M. Clean Air!     NHPBS KIDS
Sat, Apr 24 8:00 A.M. The Dirt On Dirt     NHPBS KIDS
Sun, Apr 25 8:00 A.M. My Mushy Banana     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Apr 26 8:00 A.M. Enough with the Seashells     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Apr 27 8:00 A.M. The Whale Episode     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Apr 28 8:00 A.M. Super Science Tools     NHPBS KIDS


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


Windows to the Wild