second opinion
Pain Management Beyond Opioids

Opioid overdose caused more than 42,000 deaths in the U.S. in 2016, and the crisis continues. Every day, more than 115 people in the United States die after overdosing on opioids. Two million Americans are dependent on pain pills and street drugs to deal with their pain. Our patient Laura Garrison has lived with disabling pain for decades and is concerned about managing her active life while also managing her chronic pain. Is it true that there are several other pain meds that are equally effective for treating pain? Learn what's on the horizon as researchers work to help find ways for people to better manage pain.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 1504


Watch Second Opinion - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Second Opinion": (show all)

Sat, Jun 6 6:00 A.M. Biologics In Orthopedics     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 6 11:30 A.M. Cardiac Comeback     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 7 6:00 A.M. Millennial Health     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Jun 13 6:00 A.M. Cardiac Comeback     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 13 11:30 A.M. Hiv     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 14 6:00 A.M. Depression     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Jun 20 6:00 A.M. Hiv     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 20 11:30 A.M. Caregiving Through Alzheimer's Disease     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 21 6:00 A.M. Rheumatoid Arthritis     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Jun 27 6:00 A.M. Caregiving Through Alzheimer's Disease     NH WORLD
Sat, Jun 27 11:30 A.M. Alcoholism     NH WORLD
Sun, Jun 28 6:00 A.M. Smoking Cessation     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Jul 4 6:00 A.M. Corneal Transplant     NH WORLD
Sat, Jul 4 11:30 A.M. Corneal Transplant     NH WORLD
Sun, Jul 5 6:00 A.M. Addiction & Recovery     NH EXPLORE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction