confucius was a foodie
Noodles: Long for Life, Food of Legends

Thu, Apr 11 7:00 P.M. NH CREATE      

Birthday parties and baby naming ceremonies all wish for the same thing-a long life. Longevity is symbolized by the noodle in Chinese culinary culture with more kinds of noodles than one can possibly imagine.

Episode Duration: 54 minutes and 8 seconds

Episode Number: 104

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Thu, Apr 11 7:00 P.M. noodles: long for life, food of legends     NH CREATE
Fri, Apr 12 12:30 A.M. noodles: long for life, food of legends     NH CREATE

About Confucius Was A Foodie:

In CONFUCIUS WAS A FOODIE, celebrity chef and former Food Network host Christine Cushing takes viewers on a voyage of discovery, uncovering the fascinating traditions, philosophies and history of Chinese culinary culture and its surprising influence on food around the world.

Christine's motivation to embark on this journey is her discovery that 2,500-year-old Chinese philosopher Confucius was actually-a foodie.

From exploring Chinese cuisines in North America to the culinary politics of Taiwan, the tasty richness of Hong Kong, and the blended flavors of South East Asia, Christine finds connections to the gastronomic precepts of the great Chinese philosopher both ancient and modern.

Each episode features Christine as a culinary adventurer, fearlessly leading viewers to a deeper appreciation of our world through a gourmand filter.

In Italy Christine questions the origins of pizza, in Greece she uncovers the beginnings of her beloved baklava, and in Paris she discovers that crepes have Chinese roots.

Featuring celebrity guests such as Anna Olson, chef Wan, Ming Tsai, Alvin Leung, and Janet Hsieh, CONFUCIUS WAS A FOODIE shakes up foodie myths, and takes a delicious look at the historical and contemporary landscape of Chinese cuisine.

Future Broadcast times for "Confucius Was A Foodie": (show all)

Thu, Mar 21 7:00 P.M. Cantonese     NH CREATE
Fri, Mar 22 12:30 A.M. Cantonese     NH CREATE
Tue, Mar 26 7:00 P.M. Sichuan     NH CREATE
Wed, Mar 27 12:30 A.M. Sichuan     NH CREATE
Thu, Mar 28 7:00 P.M. Sweet     NH CREATE
Fri, Mar 29 12:30 A.M. Sweet     NH CREATE
Sat, Mar 30 4:00 P.M. The Big Picture     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Apr 2 7:00 P.M. Origins of the Beginnings     NH CREATE
Wed, Apr 3 12:30 A.M. Origins of the Beginnings     NH CREATE
Thu, Apr 4 7:00 P.M. Confucius and the Origin of Food Philosophy     NH CREATE
Fri, Apr 5 12:30 A.M. Confucius and the Origin of Food Philosophy     NH CREATE
Sat, Apr 6 4:00 P.M. Cantonese     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Apr 9 7:00 P.M. Celebrations, Ceremonies and the Dumpling     NH CREATE
Wed, Apr 10 12:30 A.M. Celebrations, Ceremonies and the Dumpling     NH CREATE
Thu, Apr 11 7:00 P.M. Noodles: Long for Life, Food of Legends     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 49 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels