chef's life
Pimp My Grits

Mon, Jun 24 8:30 A.M. NH EXPLORE      

The restaurant gears up for a practice service when the new equipment and new menu will be tested in real time - but nothing is going as planned. One of the big changes to the restaurant's menus is the addition of a section called "Pimp My Grits," where Vivian exalts the lowly, quintessentially Southern ingredient in four distinct ways.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 103

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Mon, Jun 24 8:30 A.M. pimp my grits     NH EXPLORE

About Chef's Life:

A Chef's Life is a new food/reality series featuring Chef Vivian Howard.

Vivian was making a name for herself in New York City, when her father, a hog farmer, offered to get her started in her own restaurant.

The catch? It would be located in her home town, a place she swore she would never return --- the Deep South.

The series plunges audiences into the kitchen of the restaurant Chef and The Farmer, a highbrow restaurant located in Kinston, NC, one of the most impoverished communities in the U.S.

When Vivian arrives home, she begs local farmers to grow fennel, lemongrass and Jerusalem artichokes --- none of which are native to the region.

Soon, she realizes that the cooking techniques she learned in New York could be applied to her "grandmother's ingredients," the bounty grown by local farmers.

Vivian's recipes are exquisitely assembled to bring out the best in the locally grown fresh ingredients.

This is real "southern cooking," anyone can implement into their own lives.

Six years in, Vivian has become a pillar in this small community, with the restaurant winning accolades across the country.

As the series opens, she and her husband Ben are juggling the business and raising twins, when a devastating kitchen fire destroys the restaurant overnight.

What happens next is a true testament to Southern grit.


Watch Chef's Life - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Chef's Life": (show all)

Mon, May 20 8:30 A.M. Gone Clamming, Part II     NH EXPLORE
Tue, May 21 8:30 A.M. What's Your Beef?     NH EXPLORE
Wed, May 22 8:30 A.M. One Potato, New Potato     NH EXPLORE
Thu, May 23 8:30 A.M. Onions and Avetts     NH EXPLORE
Fri, May 24 8:30 A.M. My Watermelon Baby     NH EXPLORE
Sun, May 26 12:30 A.M. Gone Clamming, Part II     NH EXPLORE
Mon, May 27 8:30 A.M. Peas, Please     NH EXPLORE
Tue, May 28 8:30 A.M. Stand By Your Cabbage     NH EXPLORE
Wed, May 29 8:30 A.M. Cabbage's Last Stand     NH EXPLORE
Thu, May 30 8:30 A.M. Rabbit     NH EXPLORE
Fri, May 31 8:30 A.M. More Than One Way to Skin A Catfish     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 2 12:30 A.M. What's Your Beef?     NH EXPLORE
Mon, Jun 3 8:30 A.M. All Sunchoked Up     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 4 8:30 A.M. Heavenly Hocks     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 5 8:30 A.M. Mayo - The Mother Sauce     NH EXPLORE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 49 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels