call the midwife
Episode 5

Sun, Oct 31 8:00 P.M. NHPBS      

With Sister Hilda away on a refresher course, Sister Julienne steps in to carry out home visits. The new Pupil Midwives settle in. An overly protective mother struggles to cope with her daughter's teenage pregnancy and frustrates Pupil Midwife Nancy.

Episode Duration: 56 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 1005

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Sun, Oct 31 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NHPBS
Mon, Nov 1 12:00 A.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 2 3:00 A.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 2 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Nov 3 1:00 A.M. Episode 5     NHPBS
Sat, Nov 6 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NHPBS

About Call The Midwife:

This moving, intimate, funny and true-to-life series, based on the best-selling memoirs of the late Jennifer Worth, tells colorful stories of midwifery and families in London's East End in the 1950s.

Jenny Lee, a young woman raised in the wealthy English countryside, has chosen to become a nurse and now, as a newly qualified midwife, has gone to work in the poorest area of the city.

Attached to an order of nursing nuns at Nonnatus House, Jenny is part of a team of women who minister to expectant mothers, many of whom give birth at home in appalling conditions.

The drama follows Jenny as she meets her patients and learns to love the people who live in the East End.


Watch Call The Midwife - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Call The Midwife": (show all)

Sat, Oct 30 8:00 P.M. Episode 4     NHPBS
Sun, Oct 31 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NHPBS
Mon, Nov 1 12:00 A.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 2 3:00 A.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 2 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Nov 3 1:00 A.M. Episode 5     NHPBS
Sat, Nov 6 8:00 P.M. Episode 5     NHPBS
Sun, Nov 7 8:00 P.M. Episode 6     NHPBS
Mon, Nov 8 12:00 A.M. Episode 6     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 9 3:00 A.M. Episode 6     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Nov 9 8:00 P.M. Episode 6     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Nov 10 1:00 A.M. Episode 6     NHPBS
Sat, Nov 13 8:00 P.M. Episode 6     NHPBS
Sun, Nov 14 8:00 P.M. Episode 7     NHPBS
Mon, Nov 15 12:30 A.M. Episode 7     NH EXPLORE

NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Passport