annabel langbein: the free range cook
Life's A Picnic

Mon, May 31 12:30 P.M. NH CREATE      

Annabel Langbein and her daughter Rose head off to a local Wanaka orchard to pick one of the Central Otago's most eagerly anticipated stone fruits - apricots. The abundant harvest forms the basis of that evening's meal, both as a savory chili dipping sauce for crunchy spring rolls, and as a delicious dessert. For the main course, a brilliant speedy bang bang chicken salad. Recipes from this episode: sausage, tomato and olive pissaladiere, really useful apricot chili glaze, pork and cilantro spring rolls, aromatic poached chicken, bang bang chicken salad, speedy peanut sauce, apricots with macaroon topping, lemon syllabub, ginger mule.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 25 seconds

Episode Number: 111

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Mon, May 31 12:30 P.M. Life's A Picnic     NH CREATE

About Annabel Langbein: The Free Range Cook:

In this inspiring new lifestyle series from New Zealand, celebrity cook, food writer and author Annabel Langbein invites viewers to her idyllic lakeside cabin on the scenic shores of Lake Wanaka, where she creates simple, healthy and delicious meals for family and friends.

The self-taught cook, with more than 20 years of experience working in professional kitchens, stays true to her philosophy that quality, natural ingredients need little in the way of fussy preparation.

In each episode, Annabel ventures out in her trusty yellow truck to gather ingredients from local food producers and from her own vegetable garden and orchard.

She then combines this seasonal produce with affordable, everyday food items drawn from her global pantry of flavors and her signature "Fridge Fixings" to create bang-bang chicken, corn and Israeli couscous salad and other internationally inspired recipes.

Her down-to-earth and free-spirited approach, no-fail recipes and clever kitchen tips and tricks have earned her a passionate worldwide following.

Future Broadcast times for "Annabel Langbein: The Free Range Cook": (show all)

Tue, Apr 20 3:30 A.M. Cooking for a Crowd     NH CREATE
Sun, Apr 25 11:00 P.M. Cooking for a Crowd     NH CREATE
Mon, Apr 26 12:30 P.M. The Perfect Roast     NH CREATE
Tue, Apr 27 3:30 A.M. The Perfect Roast     NH CREATE
Sun, May 2 11:00 P.M. The Perfect Roast     NH CREATE
Mon, May 3 12:30 P.M. A Taste of Asia     NH CREATE
Tue, May 4 3:30 A.M. A Taste of Asia     NH CREATE
Sun, May 9 11:00 P.M. A Taste of Asia     NH CREATE
Mon, May 10 12:30 P.M. Fiesta for Friends     NH CREATE
Tue, May 11 3:30 A.M. Fiesta for Friends     NH CREATE
Sun, May 16 11:00 P.M. Fiesta for Friends     NH CREATE
Mon, May 17 12:30 P.M. A French Country Table     NH CREATE
Tue, May 18 3:30 A.M. A French Country Table     NH CREATE
Sun, May 23 11:00 P.M. A French Country Table     NH CREATE
Mon, May 24 12:30 P.M. Fish on the Menu     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


Windows to the Wild