american experience
The Codebreaker

Discover the fascinating story of Elizebeth Smith Friedman, the groundbreaking cryptanalyst who helped bring down Al Capone and break up a Nazi spy ring in South America. Her work help lay the foundation for modern codebreaking today.

Episode Duration: 56 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 3301


Watch American Experience - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "American Experience": (show all)

Mon, Feb 8 9:00 P.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NHPBS
Wed, Feb 10 4:30 A.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Feb 10 1:00 P.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Feb 11 3:00 A.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Feb 13 4:00 A.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Feb 13 8:00 P.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH WORLD
Sun, Feb 14 12:00 A.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH WORLD
Sun, Feb 14 9:00 P.M. Goin' Back to T-Town     NH EXPLORE
Mon, Feb 15 3:00 P.M. Freedom Riders     NH WORLD
Mon, Feb 15 9:00 P.M. Voice of Freedom     NHPBS
Tue, Feb 16 1:00 A.M. Voice of Freedom     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Feb 16 12:00 P.M. Voice of Freedom     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Feb 17 3:00 A.M. Voice of Freedom     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Feb 19 8:00 P.M. Voice of Freedom     NH WORLD
Sat, Feb 20 1:00 A.M. Voice of Freedom     NH WORLD


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


Cold Hard Cash Raffle