windows to the wild
Hike to New Madison Spring Hut

Clear icy water cascading from rocks between Mt. Madison and Mt. Adams and views of the valley below and ridge above are just some of the breathtaking landmarks of the Valley Way Trail. Willem hikes the steep trail to the Appalachian Mountain Club's renovated Madison Spring Hut, which first opened in 1889. He finds out about its popularity and rich history. With sweeping views of the Presidential Range from its elevation of 4,825 feet, the energy-efficient and environmentally sensitive hut is a perfect layover spot for hikers who want to explore above the tree line.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 48 seconds

Episode Number: 802


Watch Windows to the Wild - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Windows to the Wild": (show all)

Sat, Aug 8 4:30 P.M. Classroom on the Connecticut     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Aug 8 11:00 P.M. Classroom on the Connecticut     NHPBS
Sun, Aug 9 5:30 P.M. Classroom on the Connecticut     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Aug 12 7:30 P.M. Taking On Mount Washington     NHPBS
Sat, Aug 15 1:00 A.M. Taking On Mount Washington     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Aug 15 4:30 P.M. Taking On Mount Washington     NH EXPLORE
Sat, Aug 15 11:00 P.M. Taking On Mount Washington     NHPBS
Sun, Aug 16 5:30 P.M. Taking On Mount Washington     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Aug 19 7:30 P.M. Forest Therapy with Dogs     NHPBS
Sun, Aug 23 5:30 P.M. Forest Therapy with Dogs     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Aug 26 7:30 P.M. Discovering The Fells     NHPBS
Wed, Sep 9 7:30 P.M. Flags On NH's 48     NHPBS
Sat, Sep 12 4:30 P.M. Flags On NH's 48     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Sep 13 5:30 P.M. Flags On NH's 48     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Sep 16 7:30 P.M. Hiking for Hunger     NHPBS


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Summer Sizzle Raffle