wordworld
Duck Saves Spider's Web/Caterpillar Gets A Home

Tue, Jan 5 6:30 A.M. NHPBS KIDS      

Duck Saves Spider's Web - When Duck accidentally crashes into Spider's web and breaks it apart into letters, he has to go about finding the letters to fix it. But he doesn't know what letters are in the word 'web'! With Elephant's help, he learns that sometimes if you can sound out a word, you can figure out what letters you need to build it. Caterpillar Gets a Home - Duck makes a new friend on a windy, rainy day: Caterpillar. It soon becomes apparent that Caterpillar needs a home to protect her from the elements. Together she and Duck learn to sound out some words which might make suitable homes, such as BAG, CAN and BOX. But which one will be just right?

Episode Duration: 28 minutes and 55 seconds

Episode Number: 202

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Tue, Jan 5 6:30 A.M. Duck Saves Spider's Web/Caterpillar Gets A Home     NHPBS KIDS

About WordWorld:

Each episode of "WordWorld" is a narrative built around a wacky troupe of characters, WordFriends, who are characters first and words second.

"WordWorld's" WordFriends go on comic adventures and face challenges that can only be resolved with the right word.

Sheep is a shy little girl who loves to pretend; Frog is the cautious brainiac and word "expert"; impetuous Duck is still learning his letters; Pig lives in the moment; Ant is a pragmatic bundle of energy; and Dog is a WordFriend's best friend.

A key component of the show is word building, a unique moment when children witness a word "morph" into the thing it is.

Word building reinforces the pre-reading concept that letters make words and that words have meaning.

Future Broadcast times for "WordWorld": (show all)

Thu, Nov 26 6:30 A.M. The Really Red Ruby/Firefighters to the Rescue     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Nov 27 6:30 A.M. Duck's First Sleepover/One Hat Fits All     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Nov 30 6:30 A.M. Duck at Bat/You Can Never Have Too Many Oo's     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Dec 1 6:30 A.M. Flying Ant/The Dancing Duck Bonanza     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Dec 2 6:30 A.M. Runaway O/Happy Birthday, Dog!     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Dec 3 6:30 A.M. Play Ball/M Is for Map     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Dec 4 6:30 A.M. The Christmas Star/A Christmas Present for Dog     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Dec 7 6:30 A.M. Rocket to the Moon/The Birds     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Dec 8 6:30 A.M. Bit By Bit/Ride 'em Cowbear     NHPBS KIDS
Wed, Dec 9 6:30 A.M. A String's The Thing/J-J-Jelly     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Dec 10 6:30 A.M. The Christmas Star/A Christmas Present for Dog     NHPBS KIDS
Fri, Dec 11 6:30 A.M. Sh-Sh-Shark!/Dog Wants to Play Ball     NHPBS KIDS
Mon, Dec 14 6:30 A.M. The Lost Letter L/Catch That C!     NHPBS KIDS
Tue, Dec 15 6:30 A.M. There's An Ant In Every Giant/Chef Sheep     NHPBS KIDS
Thu, Dec 17 6:30 A.M. Princess Sheep/W Drought     NHPBS KIDS


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Online Holiday Auction