simply ming
Langoustine & Tomatoes with Chef Axel Bjorn Claussen

It wouldn't be a visit to Iceland without experiencing its geothermal energy. Ming visits Freidheimar, a tomato greenhouse in Iceland that runs off of geothermal energy to make over 370 tons of tomatoes a year. Ming picks tomatoes off the vine to bring to Fishmarket Restaurant in downtown Reykjavik where he meets chef Axel Bjorn Claussen to make some explosive cocktails along with his sous chef Kirill Ter-Martirosov. Chef Claussen prepares Icelandic pan sauteed langoustine with tomato and daikon salad. Ming then cooks up a hot and sour soup with mussels and whole grain grilled cheese. Afterwards, Ming makes a splash at the Secret Lagoon to cap off his adventures in Iceland.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 1522

Future Broadcast times for "Simply Ming": (show all)

Sun, Dec 6 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Andrew Zimmern     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 7 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 8 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 11 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Jonathan Waxman     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 13 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 14 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 15 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 18 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Carla Hall     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 20 2:00 P.M. Jay Hajj     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Dec 20 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 21 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 22 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 25 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Joanne Chang     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 27 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 28 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Sara Moulton     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


Windows to the Wild