simply ming
Icelandic Lamb with Chef Thrainn Freyr Vigfusson

It's all about Icelandic lamb this week on Simply Ming. Ming visits a fifth-generation farm in the Icelandic countryside where lamb is herded from the mountains to the mossy, grassy fields. Then, he meets up with chef Thrainn Freyr Vigfusson at his Lebanese and Moroccan food-inspired restaurant, Sumac, in downtown Reykjavik to prepare lamb. Chef Vigfusson is a member of the Iceland culinary team and won two gold medals at the World Culinary Cup, among other awards. Cooking over charcoal, chef Vigfusson makes grilled lamb ribs with dried grapes, roasted almonds and lentils while Ming serves up his lamb fried rice with sumac Skyr. Ming also makes a stop at Iceland's most famous lamb hot dog stand for a quick bite.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 1520

Future Broadcast times for "Simply Ming": (show all)

Tue, Dec 1 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Andrew Zimmern     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 6 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Andrew Zimmern     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 7 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 8 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 11 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Jonathan Waxman     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 13 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Kristen Kish     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 14 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 15 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 18 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Carla Hall     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 20 2:00 P.M. Jay Hajj     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Dec 20 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Rick Bayless     NH CREATE
Mon, Dec 21 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE
Tue, Dec 22 1:00 A.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE
Fri, Dec 25 7:00 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Joanne Chang     NH CREATE
Sun, Dec 27 5:30 P.M. Ming Tsai with Guest Susur Lee     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Online Holiday Auction