chef's life
Gone Clamming, Part II

Mon, Jul 13 8:30 A.M. NH EXPLORE      

Continue the visit to Charleston, especially the popular Waffle House Smackdown. Frank Lee, "Mayor of Charleston," invites Vivian to his home and schools her in the proper way to open a clam and reveals the secret to his aunt's decadent clam hash.

Episode Duration: 26 minutes and 46 seconds

Episode Number: 311

All broadcast times for this episode: (show all)

Mon, Jul 13 8:30 A.M. gone clamming, part ii     NH EXPLORE

About Chef's Life:

A Chef's Life is a new food/reality series featuring Chef Vivian Howard.

Vivian was making a name for herself in New York City, when her father, a hog farmer, offered to get her started in her own restaurant.

The catch? It would be located in her home town, a place she swore she would never return --- the Deep South.

The series plunges audiences into the kitchen of the restaurant Chef and The Farmer, a highbrow restaurant located in Kinston, NC, one of the most impoverished communities in the U.S.

When Vivian arrives home, she begs local farmers to grow fennel, lemongrass and Jerusalem artichokes --- none of which are native to the region.

Soon, she realizes that the cooking techniques she learned in New York could be applied to her "grandmother's ingredients," the bounty grown by local farmers.

Vivian's recipes are exquisitely assembled to bring out the best in the locally grown fresh ingredients.

This is real "southern cooking," anyone can implement into their own lives.

Six years in, Vivian has become a pillar in this small community, with the restaurant winning accolades across the country.

As the series opens, she and her husband Ben are juggling the business and raising twins, when a devastating kitchen fire destroys the restaurant overnight.

What happens next is a true testament to Southern grit.


Watch Chef's Life - Clips, Episodes & Previews


Future Broadcast times for "Chef's Life": (show all)

Thu, Jun 4 8:30 A.M. Collard Green Queen     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 5 8:30 A.M. The Buttermilk Belt     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 7 6:00 P.M. Sweet Corn & Expensive Tea     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 8 8:30 A.M. Have Yourself Some Moonshine     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 9 8:30 A.M. Blueberries and Boiling Over     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 10 8:30 A.M. Shrimp Sells     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 11 8:30 A.M. R-E-S-P-E-C-T The Butterbean     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 12 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 1     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 14 6:00 P.M. Strawberry Stay at Home     NH CREATE
Mon, Jun 15 8:30 A.M. Don't Tom Thumb Your Nose at Me! Part 2     NH EXPLORE
Tue, Jun 16 8:30 A.M. Apples     NH EXPLORE
Wed, Jun 17 8:30 A.M. The Fish Episode, Y'all     NH EXPLORE
Thu, Jun 18 8:30 A.M. Obviously, It's Pecans     NH EXPLORE
Fri, Jun 19 8:30 A.M. Turnips - The Roots     NH EXPLORE
Sun, Jun 21 6:00 P.M. Pimp My Grits     NH CREATE


NHPBS Over-the-Air Broadcast

WENH-TV Ch. 11 Durham

WLED-TV Ch. 48 Littleton

WEKW-TV Ch. 18 Keene

W50DP-D Ch. 50 Hanover

W34DQ-D Ch. 34 Pittsburg

Cable and Satellite Channels


NHPBS Spring Auction